Seed Sack Pillow

This pillow was so simple! And it turned out looking just how I wanted which makes me smile. I bought the seed sack at my local antique store for $14 dollars. Yes, that was pricier than just buying fabric and making a pillowcase or 2 for the same price. However, I validated it (my husband would love that…) by telling myself that I would have spent twice as much or more than I did at any of my favorite home decor stores.

Here’s the low down on the how-to:

– Cut 2 fabric squares  that = length + 1/2 in and the height + 1/2 inch (I sewed with a 3/8 inch seam allowance and had to go back in and make it tighter, closer to being a 1/2 inch seam allowance, in some spots).

– Option: You can do what I did or you can cut one fabric piece the length + 3/8 inch + 4 inches. This will allow you to just create the flap on the backside of the pillow, instead of having to sew it on. The reason I sewed a flap on is because I wanted to use the print from one part of the seed sack in this spot but it wouldn’t have originally worked by how I cut. Sooo….if you do the sewing a flap option*, you need to cut one fabric piece in half. Or into 3/4 and 1/4 if you want your flap to be spaced differently on the back of the pillow. Then just sew, with right sides together, the 4″ flap and one part of the back side piece –> iron your seams so it looks neat and crisp.

– Place fabric pieces right sides together, line up edges, pin.

– Sew up all sides. I used a straight stitch then went back through with my serger to cut down some of the seam fabric and to make the seams even stronger. Remember: Do NOT sew the flap. Pin this part to the middle or away from the edge so it doesn’t get caught in the needle and get sewn to the sides.

– Create button holes. I still need practice with this. I did a make-shift button hole by using certain settings on my machine to create a small, tight rectangle then I used my seam ripper to split the middle. It worked well in this case but I will make myself use a buttonhole foot on my machine and practice this more for the sake of future projects.

– I hand sewed the buttons to the part of the pillowcase under the flap. I measured and spaced where I should sew them on using my disappearing marker. Oh, it’s awesome! Shows up purple and then disappears after awhile from the air or faster if water is used.

Brilliant!

Here is the finished product:

Enjoy and I hope I inspired you to recycle some kind of material into a pillowcase!

All my best,

Courtney

Leave a Reply

